Tofu, Eggs, and Rice

rumahmakan-bubur-ayam-1You say I have no passion and tell me I’ve no pain

It’s all about the little boy with nothing left to gain

Nothing’s left in front of you for everything’s behind

I’ve stripped away your everyday been terribly unkind

How many days ‘til your time’s up and there is nothing left

My hand’s caught in the cookie jar oh what an awful theft

I’ve stolen away your innocence and now it’s far too late

For you to get your goodtime girl and find your special date

I ran my fingers through your curls oh far too many times

And now the curls have disappeared due to my awful crimes

The little boy sat in his room and pined away for me

Jumped up and down and rant and raved oh what a tragedy

So in my grief I found relief to give it up to you

I gave my all to your beckon call such a painful thing to do

Now you’ve grown and you’re all alone in your new flat in the city

Thinking of me and what it would be if I’d respond and take pity

As you’re eating your fish in a small metal dish with tofu eggs and rice

Sitting alone stripping meat from the bone looking so terribly nice

You try to erase the disdain from your face and don’t realize that I see

Down deep inside you’re trying to hide that you want to get even with me

For finding yourself stranded so empty handed in the land of my affection

Feeling alone as you’re sitting at home as I change course of our direction

I’m lost and confused and I’m feeling so used not knowing what I should do

Yet through it all when I’m feeling so small I keep coming back to you…

~kaysalady~

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 8, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

