The Beating of My Heart

Beating of My Heart

In the silence of the night

Knowledge sheds her glowing light

And the beams of reverent dreams

Smooth the cutting shattered screams

As they echo through my mind

I’m unsettled; yes, I am

As these thoughts through my head swam

Around and ’round they whirled and twirled

They made no sense as they unfurled

All I can feel is hollow fright

This indecision’s killing me

I’m all alone; I’m lost at sea

All I can do is think of you

The only one worth running to

So you could hold me for awhile

I need to lie down in my bed

If just to rest my weary head

My heart is breaking so and I

Feel such pain I feel I’ll die

To breathe another breath it’s true

And if tomorrow’s sun won’t rise

If I don’t see your lovely eyes

I’ll have no chance to say how much

I’ve longed to know the very touch

Of your sweet hand in mine

I’ll ask the angels up above

To whisper down to my true Love

Within the falling rain

The harmonious refrain

Of the beating of my heart…

 

© 2009 kaysalady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 29, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

