This Old Tree Will Die

bestofphotography1Beneath the boughs where summer’s green that once were bright cannot be seen
We met again to say hello as we had done so long ago
I waited there below the flame of autumn leaves yet once again
To see your eyes and hold your hand to say goodbye my gentle man
I touched the tree and smelled her bark her memory had left a mark
Upon my heart within my soul the fragrance there was wonderful
I tarried there beneath her dress I clung to her with eagerness
My loneliness drank her in as the rendezvous began again
For you were there right by my side to dance with me your arms stretched wide
You sang to me a lover’s song I felt so safe within the throng
The same familiar melody that you had sung so ‘oft to me
Rang to my ears straight from your heart it said that you would not depart
I closed my eyes to feel the dance so caught up in this romance
As you spun me around and around we both fell dizzy to the ground
You held tightly to my hand you held me there at your command
I felt a whispered kiss goodbye and as I opened up my eyes
I was alone beneath the tree her leaves blew gently in the breeze
The sky grew dim and so did I the clouds of purple drifted by
As if to say it’s time to go for he won’t come to say hello
You will never feel the touch beneath this tree you love so much
It’s just a faded memory place it behind where it should be
Spring will never come again nor flowers bloom within her rain
Winter’s snow will bury deep the promises he said he’d keep
And this old tree will freeze in death yes this old tree will die…

-kaysalady-
copyright 2008

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on October 11, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wonderful poem

    Like

  2. never having tried to leave a comment but your poem, This Old Tree Will Die has truly touched me. thank you for the sweet melancholy… which, just like the Blues, comforts those of us who can remember the pain of a goodbye love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

