Empty Shell

The clouds moved in as the first snow fell

The breath of winter came and cast a spell

Over the windows and through the doors

He blew a chill that sank into my pores

And cut me like a knife right to the bone

As I sit here in the darkness so all alone

Wondering how can I take another day

Of living without you in pain this way

How can I survive these eyes that cry

Wanting you so badly that I feel I’ll die

From a broken heart that bleeds for you

It hurts just to breathe I swear it’s true

I pray for sleep but sleep won’t stay

It’s the only thing that chases the hurt away

There are times I’m bitter and I do regret

All the wasted hours since the day we met

Who will warm the lonely as I sit and cry

I feel it would be easier to lie down and die

Thoughts of you not being here feel like hell

They’ve eaten me I’ve ended up an empty shell

 

-kaysalady-

 © 2009Empty_Egg_Shell

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on October 30, 2009, in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. well written, love the rhyming couplets, so hard to do sometimes without sounding sing-songy, and I relate to what you express, feel the depth … enjoyed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

