Oblivion

 

So hard for me to breathe I’ve fallen into deep despair

Sad regret has captured me inside her darkened lair

Tunneled in the wide abyss chastened for my remiss

My unheard cries reverberate inside my weary mind

I bite a bloody lip of pain and try to find my strength

Wander through my memory’s dim corridors at length

To find a fragment that remains not tied up in chains

My head is heavy as my eyes fall gazing to the ground

The numbness that I feel sustains me through the haze

Of reminiscent thoughts of dreams caught up in the maze

Endless hours that ticked away each and every precious day

Were wasted on blind fruition’s interminable promise

Oblivion has bound me in and I’ll not find myself again

Nor will I restore myself to my resplendent youth

Oblivion has traced my face with lines that cannot be erased

I fear that sad oblivion is my God awful truth

Faithful sleep come rescue me take away my misery

Where dreams come true and desires are safe behind a key

That unlocks your welcome door to a far and distant shore

Where I will find oblivion to be my fateful friend…

-Kay Salady-

 © 2009

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 29, 2009, in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice to see something new … love all the internal rhymes and the rhythm of your lines

    Like

Leave a Reply

