Yours is the Shoulder

It’s so good to see you here I’ve missed you for so long

I can see it in your eyes your love for me’s still strong

I guess I took for granted that you’d always be right there

You’ve been the only person who I feel that I can share

All my deepest feelings with and on whom I can rely

And yours is the shoulder that I feel that I can cry

I’m feeling numb and empty unwanted and alone

It seems everyone has left me here standing on my own

They don’t want me to touch them the way they used to do

And I need so much to feel alive instead of feeling blue

I know that it’s behind me yet I want the life I had

It hurts to take a breath and I’m feeling oh so bad

Frozen by the fear of which turn that I should make

Afraid to win afraid to lose by the chances I may take

I’m questioning all the motives and wondering if they’re real

The people I once trusted have now lost all their appeal

Now I’m a social recluse . . . keep losing those I love

And somehow I lost you what was I thinking of

God please stop the tears from pouring down like rain

No one should have to face this much loss or this much pain

Yes I said that I’m a warrior and I said that I am strong

But today’s just not my day I need your shoulder to cry on

-Kay Salady-

© 2009

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 2, 2009, in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

