As the Tail of Night Remains

I can hear the rushing of my blood pulsing in my veins
In the calm of velvet silence as the tail of night remains
Reminded that I have missed the sweet repose of sleep
I kept a watchful eye upon the thoughts I longed to keep
For fear that I may lose them in the corridors of dreams
Entangled in subconscious whim nothing’s as it seems
Yet I become a captive to the hypnotizing trance
Swirling in nirvana I dare not stop the dance
When Morpheus drops his potion lightly on my tongue
Lifts his scepter in the air and bids me join the fun
By floating to the great abode through a prophetic gate
Of polished horn and ‘neath the elm my fantasies await
Beside the cave that’s dimly lit on a bed of ebony
I give in to lie down to dream within a poppy sea
Hovering o’er with wings outspread and skin of lily white
His darkened curls and lips so sweet kiss me with delight
Consuming me completely as I’m taken to a place
That’s overcome by passion as I gaze into his face
Throughout the night I wrestle with the demon in my bed
Waking the next morning with visions in my head
And as I rise I take the quill and ink well in my hand
To compose a poem of fantasy there at my command
©Kay Salady
About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You’re very talented; you have a gift…..xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

