Floral Envy

Poem 26

The flowers have bloomed in her garden and mine has turned to sand
Her windows are crystal with pristine chairs to gaze upon her land
In the lovely green of England where she lives out her life
So fulfilled with all the things to bring comfort in days as his wife

I sit and dream about flowers and pillows of satin so bright
As I sit in my chair wishing I were there and feeling it just isn’t right
Wasting my days so alone wanting to be there with him
Wondering just why I don’t seem to try to make it all happen again

If tears were the raindrops of gardens that spring forth from the heart
I know he’d be here and I’d have nothing to fear for we’d not be apart
Yet these arms are forever empty and my eyes continuously to cry
For a love that has waited forever and can’t seem to figure out why

I’m afraid from days that have touched me with hands that imprinted scars
That linger in corners to haunt all the minutes that should have been ours
And I wonder why words that were gentle have turned into weapons of pain
Time isn’t a friend who holds tender the memories that we’d hoped to gain

So I drift away to her garden and I smell the lovely bouquets
That she gathers in the morning dew on bright and sunny days
I savor the tea on the table with sugar and cream with her cat
As I watch them sit there together having the friendliest chat

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on April 22, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

