Grandson

Poem 27

Do you recall my face can I detect it in your smile
Is there a special place that you reserve for me awhile
I’m caught up in the magic of your sparkling eyes of blue
It’s heaven that I find each time I set my eyes on you
So tenderly I touch your face for fear you’ll melt away
Beneath the sun upon the grass where we two gently play
And as I watch you walk with tiny legs I am amazed
That you were in the belly of your mommy yesterday
How could my son have grown into a man in just one week
When it was just a month ago that we played hide and seek
The tent that we had built is now set up again for you
With a sign that reads “boys only” there is only room for two
You and daddy play the games that grandma used to play
I often wonder when I visit do I get into the way
Or do you recall my face can I detect it in your smile
As I hold you in the rocker and I sing to you awhile
You are a part of me oh yes that dimple in your chin
The brows above your lashes as you gaze up once again
To touch your grandma’s face with such a teeny tiny hand
And I feel it in my heart that yes you somehow understand
That I’m caught up in the magic of your sparkling eyes of blue
And it’s heaven that I find each time I set my eyes on you

© Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 1, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Shaik.Hussain

    Masha Allah Lucky one!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

