Mother

Inside a quiet corner, within a time and space
A soul came down from heaven’s door to fill a special place
Where innate need to bond a love designed for only two
Became a gift of sacrifice, and Mother, that was you

Your womb was soft and gentle as it nourished all my need
I heard your voice sing softly, as a tiny human seed
That swam inside your body, as you waited there for me
And I felt your precious love before my eyes could see

The day the waters burst and I came drifting from your sea
I hungered for you, only, as your arms reached out for me
Within the light, I knew your voice and hungered for your touch
And as you looked into my eyes, you loved me, oh, so much

Ten tiny little fingers and ten tiny little toes
Grew into limbs that soon outgrew all of their baby clothes
Climbed the trees that were too high and fell to skin their knees
Yet Mother’s hands were always there to put my cries at ease

I tore the ribbons from my hair and painted on my jeans
Played baseball with the neighbor boys when I was in my teens
Then ran away from all the things you told me that were true
Embarrassed by the little things you tried so hard to do

I fell in love with someone who did not care for my heart
I should have seen it coming, Mom, right from the very start
I’d heard the words you’d given me all through the years and then
Repeated your mistakes and now I’m living them again

I know it breaks your heart to see your little girl cry tears
And, Mother, I am sorry for not listening all these years
You always knew the best for me, and now I finally know
Dear Mother, I do love you, and I know it does not show

If we could live our lives again, knowing what we do today
I wonder if we’d change the things we could, somehow, some way
I’m certain I’d have listened to the wisdom of your voice
Accepting it with gratitude each day, would be a choice

They say if you love someone be sure to set them free
And, Mother, that’s exactly what you have done with me
Now, I’ve returned to hold you and to let you know today
How much you’ve really mattered to your little Brenda Kay

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. *tears* love this poem.. its beautiful K 🙂

    Like

  2. Shaik.Hussain

    Masha allah kya khoob kaha hai meri jaan!!

    Like

  3. Wow! What a beautiful poem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

