And Dream

You’re my hero
You live inside my dreams
Where castles float on clouds of white
So high above where birds in flight
Circle ’round and ’round my head

I see your outstretched hand
Somehow I understand
With your sweet smile assuring me
I’m right here where I ought to be

You took my darkest night
Replaced my wrongs with right
Built castles on the crystal seas
Of our romantic memories

I wonder if it’s real
This heaven that I feel
I wonder if this man exists
The poetry of my life consists
Of him

On a rooftop way up high
Beneath an eastern sky
A poet pens sweet poetry
With loving words meant just for me

The tree stands on the green
Where you once sat to dream
Of meeting me beneath its bow
At strike of two someway somehow

You stayed awake for me
Beneath a lover’s tree
You ran to wait beneath my sill
And tried so hard to bend my will

The years flew swiftly by
And you moved on to try
To somehow fill the vacancy
That I had left beneath our tree

Now I am left alone
To wait for my flight home
Where I’ll meet you at heaven’s door
To take your hand in mine once more

Until then I will wait
At the lovely butterfly gate
I’ll lie upon the grassy knoll
Where you and I would take our stroll
And dream

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 9, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. nice one ………
    first time i have read any of your poems ………
    its really nice
    very romantic

    Like

Leave a Reply

