Fern and Ivy

Fern and ivy grow along the forest wall so lush

As I peek through the vines at you within the quiet hush

Of springtime’s flora just to find you all alone for me

Standing there without a care beneath the ancient tree

Her branches seem to reach for you as she bows down so low

And Spanish moss adorns her hair as she sways to and fro

In the rhythm of the wind that blows his gentle song

Whistling tunes amid her leaves as you hum along

The sunlight glistens through her limbs to softly kiss your face

As patterns of her countenance come and leave their trace

Of cookie-cutter shadowed leaves and branches on your skin

Then clouds come by to change the view then to begin again

So fascinated by your form I dare not move an inch

For fear that I might miss a thing I do not flick nor flinch

Yet somehow you perceive that you are not alone today

Amazingly you lift your head to turn your eyes my way

As if you knew that I’d watched you every single minute

You were the actor of the play and right now I was in it

So suddenly you lay me down upon the tender moss

For all my need and wanting had finally come across

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 26, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Shaik.Hussain

    Suna Hai Wo Jate Hue Keh Gay Eke
    Ab To Hum Sirf Tumare Khabo Me Ayenge,
    Koi Keh De Unse Ke Wo Wada Kar Lee,
    Hum Jindagi Bhar Ke Liye So Jayenge…

    Like

Leave a Reply

