River of Pain

River of Pain crying once again flowing from the tears I’ve cried all these years

This lonely soul’s reaching out for you don’t know what to do haven’t got a clue

I’m so lost and it’s been such a cost spending all my time on this uphill climb

It’s your face that I just can’t erase and your memory has got the best of me

Yesterday I knew just what to say and now my endless words have all sailed away

You’re not here I live with the fear you won’t come back to me to end my misery

I’ve given up on the me I used to know the girl you used to love not so long ago

Who am I where have I ran off to I got lost in the maze that’s called loving you

Lost my mind in these hopeless dreams and right now it seems you’re too far away

River of Pain’s carried me away nothing left to say but you’re here with me

In this broken heart on a lonely ship it’s a one-way trip to an endless sea

River of Pain got the best of me I just couldn’t see any other way

Where can you be you’re not calling me I can’t hear your voice and it’s killing me

I hear no sound but the rushing sea that I’m headed for ’cause you won’t rescue me

I’m going insane as I scream your name can’t you hear me now crying out again

My empty arms long to hold you tight as I’m dying here kiss your lips goodnight

In the dark thought I saw a spark of your precious smile made me laugh awhile

You were here I could feel you near easing up my pain easing up the chain

That the River of Pain’s wrapped around my heart from the very start played such a painful part

Of my life going through the strife of not holding you like I want to do

Lost my mind in these hopeless dreams and right now it seems you’re too far away

River of Pain’s carried me away nothing left to say but you’re here with me

In this broken heart on a lonely ship it’s a one-way trip to an endless sea

River of Pain got the best of me I just couldn’t see any other way

The River of Pain’s running through my veins used me up until nothing else remains

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 28, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Shaik.Hussain

    Dhire Dhire Dur Hote Gaye
    Waqt K Aage Majbur Hote Gaye
    Ishq Me Hum Ne Aisi Chot Khai K
    Hum Bewafa Or Wo Bekasur Hote Gaye…

    Like

  2. deep, smart, and moving words,

    rain of pain,
    river of rain…these are powerful thing
    for humans
    when the force is hurting lives on earth.

    have fun .

    Like

  3. ouch! how sad! I do know how that feels. And you have to work through things like that at your own pace. I just hope this is a fictitiuous piece. Nicely expressed pain, ha ha contradictions right? lol
    enjoy the potluck!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/at-the-behest-of-existence/

    Like

  4. This has such a wonderful bluesy feel about. The heartbreak is so palpable in your words. Great job and hot picture

    Like

  5. The sadness in this poem is heartbreaking.
    Although all seems lost now, in time your heart will heal and will welcome in a new love.

    Very nicley done, Kay.

    Thank you for the kind words at my blog.

    Like

  6. um, this also follows with his story.
    did you mean to do that? or is it because I know who it is in the picture i made it so?

    Like

Leave a Reply

