Lonely Hour

Why are you not with me in my lonely hour

As I call out to you in my deep desire

Emptiness has covered me in dark despair

As I wonder if you think of me out there

 

Where are you when tears of salt flow down like rain

I miss your kiss I need your touch in all my pain

You find it so damn easy to just set me free

Living here without you is so hard for me

 

Are her lips like cherry and her eyes divine

Does she tell you secrets in the night like mine

Do her arms embrace you in the same sweet way

As mine had held onto you where we two would lay

 

The love songs that I sang must somehow drift along

My face my hair and lips replay within the echoed song

As hauntingly the melody reminds you of our love

Do you ever wonder what you were thinking of

 

Tell me that you miss me darling even though

You’ve let go of our love and left me long ago

I need to know our love was special and so rare

That nothing in your future ever could compare

 

Yes jealousy is something that I’ve never played

My cards are on the table baby the truth is laid

You promised that you’d love me for all time and space

Then left me here to pine without a single trace

 

I can smell your fragrance on the shirt I’ve found

Lying on the bed alone without a sound

I slowly drift away to places yet unseen

With thoughts of you inside my head I go to dream

 

Perhaps I’ll meet you there in blissful arms of sleep

And maybe all those promises you’ll somehow keep

Within the misty shadows as you take my hand

Holding me so gently in that far-off land

 

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 30, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love, Love, Love is on your mind. Smiles…

    Like

  2. another master piece from the maestro of poetry great job angel!!!!!

    Like

  3. Dream of someone better who will stay with you when you need him. Then eat some chocolate-that always helps me.

    Like

  4. love
    ur damned if u do
    & damned if u don’t

    as alfred lord tennyson wrote
    “’tis better to have loved and lost
    than never to have loved at all”

    though
    sometimes i wonder

    good poem my sister

    peace & love

    este

    Like

Leave a Reply

