Penance

 

 

As I lie next to you

So caught up in despair

Breath held tight in silence

As if I am not there

I long to disappear

To fade away from view

Remorse has captured me

My dear it is not you

I feel pangs of disgrace

Deep within my soul

I know it makes no sense

I know I am a fool

For feeling so unclean

Despite the years that passed

His filth still covers me

How long will his grip last

Instilled within my mind

Are whispered words of blame

I know it is not mine

Yet still I carry shame

 

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 11, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love this poem, it speaks volumes and holds my attention.. “I know I am a fool for feeling so unclean” I think maybe we can all see ourselves in this.. I know I can.. Excellent Kay xx

    Like

  2. Kay, your poetry is so beautiful, as is the image. You speak to the universal emotion of self-blame. I’m sure many, if not all of your readers can relate to this sense of regret in one way or another.

    Like

  3. I don’t know what the story is behind the prose but, if it was something that occurred without your consent then, there ought to be no shame. Through many years of dreadful events, I have learned that the only way to be rid of the past, is, to face it and then, let it go.
    Your prose is concise, deep, haunting and, even fear-filled for all its gentleness.
    I do hope you were just using poetic license here. Lovely prose.

    Like

    • “Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered weak and weary,
      Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
      While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
      As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
      `’Tis some visitor,’ I muttered, `tapping at my chamber door –
      Only this, and nothing more.'”
      Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment!

      Like

  4. Your prose is sad but oh so vivid.

    A well-composed piece, Kay.

    I also want to thank you for the sweet compliment you left at my blog…brought a smile to my face:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

