A Prayer for Compassion

“Compassion is like a bridge between friendship and mercy.” -Dr. Ravindra Kumar

So to not offend the body
And to not offend the mind
Giving call to isolation
And self-control I find
I am lost within the garden
Yet I do not disturb her leaves
Nor the blossoms of her virtue
As his mercy falls on me
I delight inside the coolness
Of compassion on my skin
Consuming all my senses
As I rise to drink it in
Then I bow in adoration
So overcome my spirit stills
Once again to hear the voice
I obey as my heart wills
And the whisper of his spirit
Has beckoned me to pray
That we in harmony
Will worship him this way

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 24, 2011, in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Very nice. I especially like-

    And the whisper of his spirit
    Has beckoned me to pray

    Like

  2. Fantastic! I love this poem – thanks for sharing it 😉

    Like

  3. Compassion is something He is still working on with me. I feel I need more of it. Another beautiful poem, my friend!

    Like

  4. love the message, eloquent delivery.

    Like

  5. I liked the “coolness of compassion on my skin.” Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  6. And in friendship, the quality of mercy is not strained!

    Like

    • Yes, Donna, in friendship, it is never strained. The real test is to have pardon upon those we do not understand and to acquire acceptance. Blessings~

      Like

  7. Virtual Sinner

    I like this one a lot.

    Like

  8. Very good write. If only we could all have as much compassion the world would be so different!

    Like

Leave a Reply

