Nature’s Arabesque

 

Sun settles down to rest at the end of a cloudy day

Dancing across the water she has so much more to say

The billowing clouds embrace her enveloping her glow

Yet beneath an open window her lovely prisms show

The silver horizon shimmers so far away from me

Forming a delineation between the sky and sea

The tiny sliver of a moon peeps out from where she hides

Little did she know that I would tuck her fast inside

Sea gulls cry in the distance as they rush to greet the shore

The waves washed in and scattered pretty purple shells galore

And as I watched the tides wash their tiny footprints clean

Amid the crest of waves a school of dolphin could be seen

As I stood at top of hill my feet upon the stone

Wind whipping at my shirt tail chilling to the bone

I dare not look away from this view so picturesque

To never reacquaint myself with nature’s arabesque

Painted on this blustery day with tints and hues of gray

Sparkling colors splashing here and there to light the way

For all the life that played a tune to beckon from the shore

And far beyond within the deep called out for me once more

I held the can within my hands of shells from the Pacific

Packed them in my treasure box this day was so terrific

With hesitation drove away from this place beyond my reach

And wondered if I would recall this spot upon the beach

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 27, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed this poem!

    Like

    • Madeleine, I am so very happy that you did. I enjoy it too because it helps me to remember. My poetry is a journal of all the feelings, sights, and sounds I’ve experienced along my way. It’s so nice to take others along with me. May you be blessed.

      Like

  2. What a wonderful and vivid picture you paint with your words. I could see, hear, even smell the sea and shore. The gulls running; the sun setting… beautiful. Excellent poem!

    Like

  3. I held the can within my hands of shells from the Pacific
    Packed them in my treasure box this day was so terrific
    With hesitation drove away from this place beyond my reach
    And wondered if I would recall this spot upon the beach…

    what an inviting scene your words have painted here, well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

