On Autumn’s Wind

Take my hand back to the time

To the days when you were mine

When it was easy loving you

Before you said that we were through

 The storm clouds moved into my skies

And rain brought tears into my eyes

There’ll be no rainbows in my view

As long as I’ve no hope of you

You blew away on autumn’s wind

Among the leaves you were my friend

Lending vibrancy to my days

The prism spun in so many ways

As colors bounced along my walls

Around my windows down my halls

Inside my heart and in my head

My Valentine of pink and red

Yet reason lends no black and white

There is no sense no wrong or right

I’m left alone in a maze of gray

Hopeless helpless I’ve lost my way

The dagger’s cut me to the bone

Straight to my heart it’s found its home

I feel I’m drowning no one to care

I need to breathe come up for air

Yet your hand holds me in the storm

In this cold maze I’m lost forlorn

This chain of love that has me yoked

Becomes so tight that I am choked

I faint and fall in crimson snow

Through these dim eyes I watch you go

And as I gasp through billowed breath

Your love will follow me past death

Beyond the mist far through the veil

This love I have inside prevails

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 31, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Doggone it!!
    I love this, awesome, awesome, awesome!!!
    BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN, TOTALLY DIG IT 🙂 Thanks
    particularly these lines: “Lending vibrancy to my days

    The prism spun in so many ways”

    Like

    • Yes, this poem has a lot of lovely lines. The magic in it is that it’s real and from my heart. That’s what gives it true beauty. It’s born of love.

      Like

  2. WoW! Amazing write. You can’t beat writing straight from the heart.

    Well done!

    Like

  3. I agree–you can’t beat something written from the heart. Your last line said it all for me. I was happy to see that written. Beautiful, Kay.

    Like

  4. Stunning poem. It does feel like a dagger in the heart doesn’t it ?

    Like

  5. this is simply an awesome write!

    Like

  6. Wonderfully written angel awesome it is not just a poem it is a garland of feelings with it’s magical fragrance reaching all those lovely hearts and souls who have pure love in them every sentence is a flower which has its own magical fragrance to touch those wonderful hearts who have pure love and value the feelings A garland of words no one can make like you honey I wish and pray to Allah the magical rain of your poetry may always be there to those lovely people who love to drench in magical word drops I do not have more words to say about your writing nor am I able to find the words to write about an angel of poetry!!!!!

    Like

  7. A love poem at its finest… beautiful!

    Like

  8. incredible.

    smiles.

    Like

  9. wow. that was beautiful! lovely rhyming and…just wow. i really enjoyed this one. 🙂

    Like

  10. In this cold maze I’m lost forlorn….Great Line!

    Like

Leave a Reply

