I Ask the Evening Star

The Evening Star, Jean Baptiste Camille Corot

I look up so very far

And then I ask the evening star

Twinkling high above the clouds

Peeping out within a shroud

Of mystery to talk with me

And hear my plea of destiny

This aged tree that holds my tears

Has brought me comfort through the years

And heard my songs upon the wind

That blew her boughs and now she bends

Yet once again to hear my call

My song of hope my all-in-all

Again I send up to the breeze

That gently stirs her fallen leaves

A maiden’s song a whispered prayer

That my true love will always care

I lift my hand and promise now

I swear by holy solemn vow

That all my life I will love you

And to this love I will be true

The hills the flowers the open sky

The flock that gently saunters by

Are witnesses to the melody

That I now sing beneath this tree

And as I gaze toward evening star

I wish to be right where you are

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 4, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. it’s wonderful..i have not enough words to say how much I admire your talent

    Like

  2. Awesome angel, exactly what is my dream you have expressed in your beautiful words.

    Like

  3. Hello.
    Visually stunning.
    I love the imagery of the aged tree bending to hear your voice.

    Awesome!

    Make Sweet Love To Me

    Like

  4. mind blowing…

    you rock.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

