I’ll Sing a Lullaby

 

I’ll sing a lullaby

And gently dry your tears

If you promise not to cry

For all the passing years

That she has kept you there

Waiting just for her

Hush now dry your eyes

I’ll sing a lullaby

 

I’ll hold you in my arms

And rock you tenderly

No need to be alarmed

For you are safe with me

 

The starlight fills a sky

With promise from above

And though you don’t believe

There’s hope in newborn love

 

Gently hangs the moon

Inside a canopy

Of curtains way up high

In darkest ebony

It’s beauty all aglow

Shimmering in your eyes

If only you could know

If you could realize

 

I’ll sing a lullaby

To tell you how I feel

My dream is in your sigh

And fairytales are real

 

Floating on a cloud

In iridescent skies

I’ve found my passion now

Gazing in your eyes

 

I’ll sing a lullaby

And gently dry your tears

Now promise not to cry

I’ll wipe away the years

I’ll hold you in my arms

And rock you tenderly

I’ll sing a lullaby

And watch you while you sleep . . .

 

 

©Kay Salady

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 10, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. sweet, thoughtful words..

    Like

  2. very beautiful

    Like

  3. you are talented in many ways, smiles.

    Greetings:
    you are represented here, blessing! Let us know what you think via commenting…

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2011/08/special-interviews-on-18-outstanding.html

    Do join our poetry potluck week 48 tonight,
    You rock!
    xoxox

    Like

  4. Hello.
    This is so tender & sweet. Soothing words for the soul.

    Nicely done!

    Enjoy Potluck!

    Like

  5. beautiful and it would be a beautiful lullaby thank you for sharing

    Like

  6. Yes, Kay, this one could easily be a song. I often sing along with some of mine, too. Sometimes they come out with a melody to them. Very nice, this one!

    Here is my second offering for this week: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/18/i-am-loved/

    Like

Leave a Reply

