Denude

 

My eyes are wide open to the smallness that I feel

With a strike of sudden terror that nothing’s even real

I can’t face this day alone inside this box of glass

Screaming out to be released as the minutes pass

My heart is pounding through my ribs and I can barely breathe

I wonder if this debilitating pain will ever leave

Scurrying about like a mouse that’s spinning on a wheel

I’m so confused can’t get in touch with how I really feel

I hit a wall of blank suspense and feel my chest is crushing

So cold within this prison as my frantic face is flushing

Extremities are numb and cold with needles and with pins

I pray to unseen forces to forgive the dreadful sins

That take my every breath and hit me in the chest

Cause my head to rush with fear by some uncanny jest

That isn’t very humorous as sadness fills my heart

With pain so deep and cutting it is tearing me apart

My face contorts and fingers curl up tightly where’s my air

I’m screaming for serenity but find that it’s not there

I’m running from the monsters that are messing with my head

Curled in a ball I am so small there crying on my bed

I smell the foul adrenaline come rushing through my pores

I ache with pain that’s flowing out from all these gaping sores

That I can’t see and I don’t know yet I feel that they are there

My tears have washed away the fear and all I feel is bare

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 18, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. amazing kay wonderfully expressed!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

