Accompany Me

Oh how I love you

Accompany me tonight

On this walk of love

Never let go of my hand

Our path leads to ecstasy

©Kay Salady

Waka (literally “Japanese poem”) or Yamato uta is a genre of classical Japanese verse and one of the major genres of Japanese literature.  The tanka is written in 5-7-5-7-7 form.

My offering for The Purple Treehouse.  Blessings!
About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 19, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. The wonderful words that you use in your poetry are not only words. They have life in them to express feelings and touch the pure hearts of love. Small, yet so powerful a poem, angel!!!! Alhamdullilah!

    Like

  2. From my humble understanding, this is a perfectly written Waka: love theme, first three lines set the tone and the last two wrap it up. Lovely.

    Like

  3. sweet, well done..
    smiles.

    Like

  4. Love the continuous flow with each line standing on it’s own.

    Like

  5. Beautifully done, Kay. Full of devotion and passion.

    Like

  6. Beautiful example of a tanka, I believe? I’m really starting to enjoy the Japanese poetry forms and you did a splendid job saying a lot in a few words.

    Like

    • Thank you very much for all your lovely comments. I’ve learned a lot about this lovely style of Japanese writing with its various forms. It’s been a pleasure.

      Like

  7. My sense has been stripped
    I caught my self in despair
    What more will come near
    When I have nothing in here
    but your smile stays forever

    Like

    • My trembling heart melts
      At the sound of your calling
      Just knowing you’re there
      With a love that embraces
      The smile you have treasured

      Like

  8. Very nice! I really enjoyed it. Peace and blessings 🙂

    Like

  9. Beautiful poem, and the emotions were expressed in so a few words. Well done! 🙂

    Like

  10. very nice sweet tanka

    Like

Leave a Reply

