I Held You

I held you in my arms

But for a little while

And whiled away the hours

Caught up in your smile

The winds of time took you away

So very far from me

And now I hold you in my heart

Where you will never leave

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So sad… but once love exists it can never die. Soft, beautiful.

    Like

  2. Yes, so sad. I wonder if you wrote about a stillborn child? That was the picture my mind saw as I read your words. Thanks too for your kind words about my post! I treasure your comments.

    Like

  3. This reminds me of my own unborn daughter who I lost before birth. I loved her and I hadn’t even met her. It was not her time to get here though and reading this poem made me feel that motherly instinct again, there’s nothing quite like it or like losing a child.

    Thanks for sharing from the heart, and may inner peace find you if this happened to you.

    Feel free to check out my poems as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

  4. Very sad and very beautiful!

    Like

  5. Instead of capturing the sadness, through a complete poem the writers try to speak about the strength. It’s a love which has a beautiful and strong shape that kept someone in heart and mind.
    But I would like to suggest the writer to use “mind” instead of “heart” in the last line
    “And now I hold you in my heart”
    Even though I realize that the heart might have stronger effect of emotion rather than mind,
    My suggestion is only based on my knowledge about a philosophy background of those two pieces of human part.
    Mind – is easier to control by the person who has it while
    Heart – is all belong to the Almighty, it’s His privilege to turn the heart up and down.

    But overall it’s a beautiful poem and I really enjoy and get drown into the emotion that the writer try to send …

    Congrats

    Like

Leave a Reply

