Inside a Sunlit Ball

The golden moonlight

Melts slowly into the sea

Whispering goodbye

As it softly beckons me

To gather moon dust

Ere it fades away

To greet another lover

On another day

O’ lovely beams of Luna

Come to bathe me tenderly

Gazing from the shore

Far out upon the ocean

I whisper a prayer

With all my heart’s devotion

To the goddess of the moon

I give you my heart

On this night so willingly

And you hear my call

As my heart goes out to sea

Deep inside a sunlit ball

©Kay Salady

 

Thank you to The Poetry Palace for this wonderful Perfect Poet’s Award!   I nominate Samer El Abed aka Cerca Trova   Samer’s poetry is very meaningful and filled with both passion and compassion.

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 11, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. beautiful! i feel like every poem I read today seems a little more meaningful given the date… eh?

    Like

  2. This is beautiful. The picture sets the mood, and the words sing a song. Comes across so smooth and fluidly. Very nice.
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/farmers-lament-2/

    Like

  3. Love the picture. She is a beauty too, isn’t she! Being Cancerian, I’m always lured by her and, water.
    This is a lovely twirl of words, a wish, a prayer desire given up to the lady and then waiting.
    Beautiful.

    Like

  4. love this one.

    magical imagery…

    Like

  5. “O’ lovely beams of Luna.” I love that line. A mystical quality to this. : )

    Like

  6. A lovely whistful feeling. Nice read!

    Like

  7. The moon and the light … are always such an appealing themes to me, though I always think of the radiance on the moon to be silver, today here I enjoy your golden words and I say thank you for sharing!

    Like

  8. The picture and your poem together create magic 🙂

    Like

  9. Evocative and romantic… Very nice!

    Like

  10. romantic indeed.

    lovely entry.

    Like

  11. This is so lovely, beautiful and flowing, truly magical. I am going back to read again.
    You might like this http://planetcyberluz.com/2010/07/02/moon-magic/

    Like

  12. Dear Kay

    Oh the play with the moon and sunlight.. I liked it so much.. the yearning the feeling to be with … with warmth in the heart…

    “I give you my heart
    On this night so willingly
    And you hear my call
    As my heart goes out to sea
    Deep inside a sunlit ball”

    Thanks for sharing.. and I look forward to seeing you again… next week.

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/09/whispers-in-memories-way-of-soul.html
    At twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Like

  13. Thanks to everyone for your wonderful comments! I am very pleased that you enjoyed my poem!

    Like

  14. Beautiful and haunting.

    This piece had the feel of 9 Crimes by Damien Rice

    my entry

    http://respectandacceptance.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/you-choose/

    Like

Leave a Reply

