Facade

I am in love with a mirage

Such a beautiful visage

Of what I had dreamed my lover would be

When I thought up your identity

Then you reluctantly presented to me

Each layer I peeled away

 

And as I reached the core of you

I realized I had no clue

Of what I had done upon that day

A broken vessel made of clay

Twisted and torn to bend my way

Lay bleeding at my feet

 

This stranger bore a love for me

This stranger still a stranger be

To me and all my cruelty

A guise to love and hope

 

As yet he bears a silver cord

Tied to my heart with one accord

To bind until eternity

This stranger to a stranger be

 

©Kay Salady

 

Image:  http://th03.deviantart.net/fs41/300W/i/2009/008/c/0/Heartstrings_by_Ravven78.jpg

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on October 30, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A bit twisted…but I like it, a lot!

    Like

  2. deep and wonderfully written

    Like

Leave a Reply

