Touched by Green

I am thankful for the green that springs forth from the dew

And I am ever grateful for each blossom rich with hue

That gives my ordinary days a small piece of delight

Along the mud stained avenues that run before my sight

When in puzzled swaying thought I strive to see the seed

Within the deep redeeming soil to fill my inner need

A bud exists for me alone so rare and so divine

I am assured that it will grow in the proper time

To fill my eyes with rapture and to elate my mind

Then on my gray and rainy day this bit of green I find

Fills me with thanksgiving beyond the deepest measure

A sprig with just a touch of hue gives enormous pleasure

©Kay Salady

Jingle Poetry – The Gooseberry Garden Poetry Picnic Week 14:  What I’m Thankful for in My Life

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 20, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. a beautiful share…i like these lines best:

    “And I am ever grateful for each blossom rich with hue
    That gives my ordinary days a small piece of delight”

    Like

  2. love it,

    the words you have penned here are simply fascinating.

    Like

  3. Fills me with thanksgiving beyond the deepest measure
    A sprig with just a touch of hue gives enormous pleasure

    well fine tuned words, love it, smiles.

    Happy Poetry Picnic.
    🙂

    Like

  4. The green goddess of creation lives quietly yet fills us with joy.

    Like

  5. A perfect poem for Thanksgiving. You also chose wonderful poems for the prompt. Neruda is one of my favorite poets. Thank you, Kay

    Like

  6. priceless and beyond normal definition.

    love your take on the theme.

    Like

  7. ‘When in puzzled swaying thought I strive to see the seed

    Within the deep redeeming soil to fill my inner need’ love these lines…

    It takes effort to see the good in things sometimes, but you do a brilliant job here

    Like

    • These are also, in my opinion, the most poignant lines of the poem. I was hoping that someone would take notice of them. Thank you so very much!

      Like

  8. Hello.
    This is simply lovely.
    Nice ending.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Mine’s here:
    Beautiful Woman Of My Heart

    I’m also having a celebration of sorts over at my blog. You’re welcome to attend. For more information, please click here…

    Like

  9. Thank you for what is, as usual, an introspective and image-laden offering to contemplate!!

    Like

  10. Happy Friday.
    Hope that you have enjoyed a lovely thanksgiving.

    Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

