Martyr for Love

He laid upon a bed of sorrow

Where he continually reread

Words of love penned by an angel

Scattered ‘round his head

Crumpled pages in his hand

Stained by flowing tears

From the eyes of fallen hope

Held high throughout the years

A few drops of sweet reprieve

Had left him feeling numb

He thought of kisses that she’d leave

As honey on his tongue

That took his very breath away

So quiet and so still

He knew he’d never feel this way

He knew he never will

They found him on the sad tomorrow

His eyes lay open wide

So vacant of his pain and sorrow

Her portrait by his side

And in his hand a crumpled letter

Torn and filled with tears

Your Angel’s gone to some place better

She’ll see you there my dear

©Kay Salady

Image:  http://allwomenstalk.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/10-ways-to-express-your-love-to-him/send-him-cards-or-letters-often_10-ways-to-express-your-love-to-him.jpg

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Perfect rhymes and as perfect as a picture. This should be a song!

    Like

  2. This is so deep in it’s description. I love it. It is an accurate account of the way
    I would feel about the sorrow of loss. I had chilled as I continued reading it.
    You touch a lot of emotions with this poem.
    Amazing ..
    Isadora

    Like

    • Years ago, my Grandfather told me a story about his cousin who was found dead on his bed surrounded by the letters from his lady love. He’d told me that a person can really die of a broken heart and that for some, there is only one true love. My Nannie left my Grandfather when he was only 33 years of age. He never remarried. It was also true for my Grandfather. I wrote this poem for those who are martyrs for love, those who love one and one alone.

      As for me, I believe in never ever giving up hope. My Grandfather didn’t. He reconciled with my Nannie just before his death. That was enough for him.

      Like

  3. Passionate and painful – the ways of love 🙂 Very nice!

    Like

  4. Sad and passionate and written so very well my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

