The Metal Laid Heavy

Legendary musician Jimi Hendrix was named the greatest guitar player in history on Nov. 23 by Rolling Stone magazine!

The metal laid heavy on me, burning ecstasy within my senses

Shattering the windows of my soul; tearing down unseen fences

Opening my mind to sweet nothings’ metallic nerve

Swaying bodies’ passion keeping tempo to the verve

Colors flash before me as the music takes me under

Riding on the wave of this amazing rush of thunder

Electric is the shock that wakes me from the frantic spell

As I roamed through corridors of flickering flames of hell

Blisters on my fingers sliding through the strings to which

Shivering and shaking they scream with fevered pitch

Taking me above it all so high beyond the screams

Of my guitar that takes me to Nirvana’s place of dreams

©Kay Salady

Image:  http://news.yahoo.com/photos/rolling-stone-names-hendrix-best-guitarist-ever-1322061612-slideshow/jimi-hendrix-photo-1322061594.html

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 23, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Jimi Hendrix was awesome!
    I lvoe these lines…

    “Blisters on my fingers sliding through the strings to which

    Shivering and shaking they scream with fevered pitch

    Taking me above it all so high beyond the screams

    Of my guitar that takes me to Nirvana’s place of dreams”

    It really captures that the raw and real guitar sound.

    Like

  2. A nice tribute to Jimi Hendrix. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  3. Hello.
    Jimi Hendrix sure could play!
    Lovely tribute.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Mine’s here:
    Beautiful Woman Of My Heart

    I’m also having a celebration of sorts over at my blog. You’re welcome to attend. For more information, please click here…

    Like

  4. Jj Roa Rodriguez

    Nice post… Thanks for sharing…

    JJRod’z

    Like

  5. I see you have the music in you my friend ;o)
    Awesome poem, awesome tribute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

