Sands of Time

Song of Lament

 

The sands of time have been cruel to me

For they took away all that used to be

Your darling face is now a memory

The hands of time stole your love from me

Mirror on the wall ridicules my face

Since the beauty of yesterday’s replaced

By the wicked lines of the days that passed

Now I run away from the looking glass

How I wish I had your dear hand in mine

As I sit and wait with the sands of time

For I know that soon they will cease to flow

And the hands of time will urge me to go

I had dreamt for years that I’d be with you

In your precious arms when my days were through

But those sands of time were so cruel to me

For they took away all that used to be

Oh those hands of time were so cruel you see

For they took away your sweet love from me

 

©Kay Salady

My offering for Bluebell Books Short Story Slam Week 15

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 27, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great post today thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Join us today!

    – Writers Wanted –

    Like

  2. Beautiful poem…really captures the feelings of loss. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. truly beautiful and truly sad ….thank you for sharing x

    Like

  4. dark, powerful ….

    excellent story.

    Like

  5. moving, strong emotions.

    beautiful delivery.

    Like

  6. “As I sit and wait with the sands of time.” Beautifully expressed. I enjoyed reading this poem

    Like

  7. Elizena R Arellano

    This poem was sad and powerful; I imagined myself sitting in a dark study listening as the clock tick tocked the time away and I waited impatiently for time to catch up with my body and send me to the one I love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

