She is the Moon

You like the night, the stars, and the moon floating in the velvet sky.

She is the full moon

As you lie in the darkness

You long for her light

When will she rise to greet you

Totally enveloping

All of your senses

©Kay Salady

My entry for The Poetry Palace

Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 57  (December 1-December 7, 2011)

Image:  http://images4.fanpop.com/image/photos/18300000/sensual-robert-pattinson-18397012-1700-1700.jpg

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 3, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. My My My that was not a hard picture to wake up to!

    I love the photo, duh, but the words were even better. You put yourself inside of his character and produced a great verse!

    Like

    • Actually, I wrote this line about the night sky to an artist friend of mine who works all night and sleeps all day. I jotted it down because I wanted to use it for a poem later on. I wrote the tanka and then searched for the photograph. It’s uncanny how well it suits Pattinson’s character. I was searching for a sensual picture and this is certainly it. Thank you for the comment!

      Like

  2. Hot photo.. nice use of the full moon as metaphor ~

    Like

  3. handsome.

    cool and playful words.

    Thanks.

    Like

  4. a nice “moon” poem…..it can’t be denied how captivating the moon is……

    Like

  5. Got extremely distracted by that photo!!! *grin*

    Very nice piece!

    Like

  6. love the photo shot,

    the imagery is haunting in a moon senses.

    🙂

    Like

  7. seducing image,

    very cool piece.

    Happy Rally.
    let us know after you are done commenting.

    🙂

    Like

  8. Beautiful poem….

    Like

  9. Definitely a break from the everyday humdrum!!! THANK YOU for sharing! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

