Every Bridge You Must Burn

 

I have come to return

Every bridge you must burn

I won’t cross

I will drown

And I won’t

Make a sound

Pendulum

Your blade sways

Over my

Yesterdays

As I lie

Here so still

My hands tied

As I swill

All the things

I have said

Painting me

Bright blood-red

Forego breath

My pulse pounds

Keeping pace

With the sounds

Of the cries

That I hear

Face the blame

For the tear

From the eyes

Watching me

In my old

Family tree

Take this bridge

I can’t cross

It’s your match

Count the loss

All the pain

That you feel

Is in me

Yes it’s real

Set the fire

Make me free

From the curse

That’s on me

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 17, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

