Closure

 

My brain is not my own as thoughts zigzag

Through hazy corridors of mind’s recollection

Sent on this mission of conjuring up the past

That I cannot recall teetering on the edge

As bits and pieces come to tear at my gut

With shards of bitterness that I cannot resolve

And I so want to bleed away this heavy pain

That’s much too much to bear in the increments

You ritually are serving me on rusty spoons

That cut my tongue leaving acrid streaks of blood

This blood that came from your sweet flesh

Writhing there in pain

Curled in fetal mode

Helplessly seeking

Closure

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. powerfully written! I’ve been facing the fears of my inner demons as I unearth the past through writings. Your poem spoke to me.
    Blessings, Joan

    Like

  2. Powerful imagery. Love it!

    Like

  3. Kay I recently found a lump in my right breast and I’m scared but i have told no one except u.. I have a few people that i really need to apologize to for things i have done and I have been trying to contact one of these persons but with no luck.. But I must tell you that i love this poem and it makes me want to try alittle harder to find this person so i can be free from what I have done in my past. I love u girl

    Like

    • Oh my Shiny Penni, I love you too! Even if you can’t find the person you wish to, all you need to do is have a little talk with God. He forgives all. Nearly everyone in this world has had someone hurt them, and if it’s by someone they love, it’s always forgiven. It may take time, but we rarely need to hear an apology to realize that people are human. We were not put on this earth to be perfect. We were meant to be perfectly human. You’ll be alright, Penni. No matter what, I know that you’ll be alright. Always remember why you are here and who you’re in the arms of. “See I will not forget you, for I have carved you in the hollow of my hand.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

