Fire – a story in 100 words

I had reached the age of maturity and it was time to choose a mate. Had I chosen wisely? Elders sat before the big ring of fire and I eagerly watched their faces. The peyote I’d smoked in the pipe the medicine man had offered transformed the world around me into a netherworld. And now, gazing into the fire, I was mesmerized by the things I saw. Shadows and shapes twisted and formed visions within my mind exactly as foretold. I saw my otter totem and Grandfather appeared to me giving me an answer to my long-awaited question. “Aho!”

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 5, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

