Daddy’s Song

 

Oh how I loved my Mother’s sweet perfume

As she bent low to tuck me in my room

Inside the comfort of the white chenille

She’d kiss my forehead softly and I’d feel

So safe within the comfort of her love

 

And then the shadows danced upon my wall

Their drumbeats rang within my ears so small

The demons that had marched inside my head

Had plans to take me to The Land of Dread

And I was sure they wished that I was dead

 

I lay so still for fear that they could hear

And held my breath and tried to disappear

Beneath the covers on my bed of doom

For I could hear each heartbeat go kaboom

Oh how I hate this lilac painted room

 

The dollies on my dresser look at me

As I cry for my Daddy helplessly

His gentle song can make the demons fly

And wipe away the teardrops from my eye

He scoops me in his arms where I can hide

Then takes me to the car for a night ride

 

I hear my Mother say that I am spoiled

But she has no idea that they have foiled

The nasty plans they’ve made to take away

The little girl they have for one more day

I love you Mommy

 

As I look up into the starry sky

And try to keep awake at least one eye

I ask the voodoo men to go away

And not scare little children this I pray

Amen

 

When I’m asleep my Daddy drives us home

And carries me upstairs into my room

He tucks me safely into my big bed

And touches the long hair upon my head

Goodnight

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just wonderful!

    And thanks so much for your fun contribution to last week’s Limerick-Off!

    Like

  2. A poignant, gripping poem about a child’s fears at night in bed. Well done! The 2nd and 3rd stanzas were particularly apt in describing them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

