Interminable Seed

We melded into each other one night at a time we both were in need

I held you close, too close, and then I planted an interminable seed

Why did I make such an awful mistake of speaking those three little words

And set myself up for such a long ride not knowing the pain I’d incurred

You were looking for more than what I could give at such a time as this

And depending on me to take care of your heart, you found I was remiss

The huge confrontation we had last night was almost too much to bear

I found myself crying in deep regret and wishing that you were not there

My mind’s so confused and this agony is torturing me both day and night

And it’s all I can do to be civil with you because we always argue and fight

Over and over I’ve tried to convey the fact that my heart isn’t yours

And I’m tired of playing these ridiculous games and hiding behind these closed doors

The discomfort I feel is so painfully real and it’s driving me out of my mind

Just set me free and let me be me; do what’s right and just try to be kind

Why would you wish to have on your dish a heart that beats for another

Don’t tie me down just to have me around; don’t dictate and please, don’t smother

I’ll just grow to hate you despise and berate you and that isn’t what you desire

Let me dig up the interminable seed and just admit I’m a liar

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 11, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Wow.. 🙂 I like this..

    CLF

    Like

  2. I definitely see codependency on both parts. It’s so much easier looking in than looking out. Nice write conveying the emotion of both.

    Like

  3. honest and sad, we learn.

    Like

  4. Very powerful Kay. Wow.

    Like

  5. Moments of pleasure mixed in with regret,
    It might either be heaven or hell we get,
    But hearts don’t choose the easiest way,
    It’s all or nothing to induce love to stay.

    Your poem is absolutely wonderful! Kay, I loved it.

    Like

  6. One seed can grow quite a tangle, be careful what you sow — great pic!

    Like

  7. Great rhyme scheme and the words tell the story in such a sad and soulful way! Really love this!!!

    Like

  8. Great trip you took your readers on.

    Like this a lot.

    Like

  9. Torturous, Clever and Honest. Thought provoking poem Kay. :] xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

