You Lied

You lied . . . and deep inside I cried
For all the times I trusted you
Held tight to everything you said
‘Cause deep inside I needed to
I wanted to reach out and touch
The man I loved so much
A million miles away from me
I feared I wouldn’t understand
If you were not the man
I thought you’d be

You lied . . . and all the tears I’ve cried
Have washed along your empty shore
They gather there beside your feet
As broken shells at your heart’s door
Pick one and hold it to your ear
It whispers to you dear
Won’t you come to rescue me
I feared you wouldn’t understand
If I wasn’t the woman
You thought I’d be

And all the many grains of sand
That gather in your hand
Are tossed away
Like me
I’m washed back out to sea
A faded memory
That could not stay

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 24, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There is no worse betrayal than the betrayal of love and lying or cheating has to be the worst. The pain is almost touchable.

    Like

Leave a comment