A Heart of Stone

There lies within this frozen mound

Upon the clay where sand surrounds

A heart of stone among the mire

So vibrant in its red attire

That once stood for the source of love

Now surfaced as an emblem of

The beating heart so soft and still

That fell along the stony hill

Where time and weather took their toll

As pain and plunder pound the soul

To harden things that once did yield

Into a fortress that is sealed

No more to beat the drums of peace

Nor feel the joy of sweet release

So cold within the captive clay

Till hands of love appear one day

To gather hearts of stone so cold

From places in the earth so old

Neither you nor I will ever know

Until we see these hearts aglow

And feel them beat the drums of peace

That will bring bliss and sweet release

Into a land that once was sealed

Into the souls that will be healed

I walk along this frozen mound

Upon the clay without a sound

And hear a stone beneath the earth

Softly beating gentle mirth

I see a bit of vibrant red

The source of love surrounds my head

With stunning hues of tender spring

I’m filled with hope for everything

I scratch and claw at Mother Earth

I dig the soil for my rebirth

Is in the beating heart I’ve found

Deep beneath the stony ground

That fell for want of love’s pure need

Becoming blossom’s brightest seed

I clasp this bit of stone hard clay

Against my bosom in a way

That places all my dreams of peace

Down to the core of its release

Then fire lit up the coals of love

It shed its rosy outer glove

Then burst a fountain flowing free

To flood the land with unity

©Kay Salady

Published in the Global Peace Journal

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 26, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

