Art and Craft – a story in 100 words

She is one of only a handful

Performing a very old art

Heating pieces of metal

By burning coke on hearth

Smiting with her tools

The black fire scale

That first glows

Bright red

Spark

My great grandfather, Eskie Lee Fitzwater was a blacksmith by trade, and I was fascinated by his little shop with the horseshoe above the door, his whetstone wheel, and forge.  I’d often fancied myself as following in his footsteps.  Over the years, I have heard of a few female blacksmiths, one in particular, who resides in Flagstaff, Arizona.  The skill of crafting metal is captivating.

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 18, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

