I’ve Run Out of Words

 

How can I live and how can I breathe

Why did I think that you’d never leave

I took for granted that you’d always stay

Right here by my side now you’ve gone away

What more can I give what else can I do

I’ve run out of words I gave them to you

It seems that it’s time for me to give up

My fragile heart’s broken the pieces have cut

To the core of my soul and bled me away

My fingertips aching to hold yesterday

Reached to untie the bright scarlet ribbon

That sealed every word of love that I’d written

Now drifting away down a river of pain

Fed by my teardrops falling as rain

How can I live and how can I breathe

When did it first occur that you’d leave

What did I say and what did I do

I’ve run out of words I gave them to you

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit:  http://nikosalpha.deviantart.com/art/agony-179777462

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 23, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

