Savage Years

I’ve lived and loved with half a heart

And now my half’s shattered

You’ve flown away my little bird

As if nothing mattered

I sit alone with broken thoughts

Of our lives together

And wonder how those savage years

Could paint our forever

A foreign face took my place

And stole all my dreams

Just like that without a trace

You’ve left me it seems

In your palm you held my heart

And I held yours too

She came along and tore apart

A love that was true

Your precious wings are torn away

So you cannot fly

To bring your love to me today

I feel that I’ll die

A brutal thing you’ve done to me

As I sit in this nest

Waiting for what used to be

From the one I’ve loved best

She came along and tore apart

A love that was true

I’ll try to live without the hope

I’d invested in you

And I’ll try to live without the parts

I have sent back to you

I’ve lived and loved with half a heart

And now my half’s shattered

You’ve flown away my little bird

As if nothing mattered

I sit alone with broken thoughts

Of our lives together

And wonder how those savage years

Could paint our forever

© Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 1, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

