Muse

 

Secretly you’re testing me to see how far I’ll go

I can feel you’re testing me but I won’t let you know

I play along and watch the song and dance that you perform

It feeds my inspiration and your passion keeps me warm

This night is long and lonely and my river’s all but dry

Searching for life’s meaning and I’m empty though I try

To rid myself of all that’s hidden in my heavy heart

You pick the lock with your sweet talk that rips the seams apart

Fantasies unearth themselves from corners in my mind

Bathed in velvet darkness you so softly touch and bind

Against the shadows that we make beneath the silver moon

Breathless oh so breathless I am trembling as I swoon

Wanting to be lovers on a bed of satin bliss

Satiating hunger with the thought of passion’s kiss

Rolling with the thunder of this aching deep inside

As pulses from the energy makes hairs begin to rise

I’m wondering if you feel it too in my anticipation

Helpless oh so helpless in all of my frustration

So coyly you remove yourself you smoothly slip away

Leaving me alone in doubt with so much left to say

I dream of you within my night and touch myself in morning

Wondering when you will return to me without a warning

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

Image Credit:  http://bersty.deviantart.com/art/passion-58603396

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 25, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. David Eric Cummins

    I love this! Absolutely beautiful.

    Like

  2. Beautiful rhythm and rhyme. Wonderful poem.

    Like

  3. This is lovely Kay. A whirlwind of feelings expressed here. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

  4. I love this! Very beautiful and sensual

    Like

Leave a Reply

