Disconnected

 

I am feeling so detached

As I stare blankly at the wall

I have the distinct impression

That I don’t matter much at all

I awake when my eyes open

Because I don’t really care

I’m well acquainted with depression

And it’s not going anywhere

I spend my days forsaken

It doesn’t matter what I do

No one ever stops to visit

I can understand

Who would want to

I’ve grown so weary of the world

It seems it’s growing tired of me

The vibrancy that I once knew

Has disappeared and possibly

It is hiding with the sun

Behind the clouds of grey

I used to wish for rainbows

Even dreams have slipped away

I dare not plan the future

It’s too vague for me to hope

I take things as they come

And try so hard to cope

Within a world so foreign

That I somehow seem to know

I’m trapped by the confusion

Of not knowing where to go

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

Image Credit:  http://www.justonhealth.com/symptoms-of-severe-depression/

 

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on April 8, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You have just written my life! If this is something you’re also going through, I can only wish you all the best and hope you have the strength, from day to day, to keep fighting! *big hugs*

    Like

  2. Nicely captured…

    Like

  3. Well expressed Kay. I can relate to this too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

