Of Flesh

 

Of flesh and blood and bone am I

With sacred breath this vessel filled

Descended from the heights to die

 

Born to live and too soon I die

This mortal soul that is strong-willed

Of flesh and blood and bone am I

 

Preordained from realms on high

Until my seasons are fulfilled

Descended from the heights to die

 

I shall ascend yes I shall fly

To burst into incandescent gild

Of flesh and blood and bone am I

 

In that moment’s splendor I

Shall be inclined to float so thrilled

Descended from the heights to die

 

Neither pain nor tears to cry

Within soft velvet night instilled

Of flesh and blood and bone am I

Descended from the heights to die

 

©Kay Salady

 

Image Credit:  http://zoeyin.com

Print by 8-year old Zoe Yin

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on April 11, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Another brilliant poem Kay 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

