Untied

tied hearts

There is a silver string

That ties my heart to yours

It doesn’t mean a thing

Now that you have closed the doors

To all we used to be

I can’t believe it’s true

You’ve cut the silver string

That tied my heart to you

 

Today you’ve walked away

From all that used to be

The words I’ve longed to say

Are still inside of me

Locked within the tears

I’ve cried since you’ve been gone

I wish they’d disappear

We could right this awful wrong

 

There is a silver string

I’ve saved for you a strand

Though it doesn’t mean a thing

It’s in my outstretched hand

With hopes you will return

Again to me one day

My love for you still burns

In such a painful way

 

Without you by my side

I can’t think to carry on

This cord needs to be tied

Before my heart’s withdrawn

Forever from all hope

Of being joined to you

However shall I cope

With worn-out ends for two

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on April 17, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

