Cucumber Sandwiches

 

Oh to roam the soft blankets of green

Where lullabies drifted o’er blossoms of clover

As Sally held buttercups under my chin

To ascertain whether or not I liked butter

The wearing of white gloves most certain a must

At luncheons with white bread minus the crust

Laden with cucumber slices just so

Then on the side the potato chips go

As Sally and I sat down for our lunch

At her kitchen table enjoying each crunch

Her father Homer sat down with us too

And at times he would eat a sandwich or two

When he was a boy he had nearly expired

By falling face first in the pit of a fire

Now it wasn’t easy for a girl in my place

To comprehend a man with no face

Homer was loving and kind to his wife

A good father to Sally and so full of life

Sarah was lovely she perfumed her hair

Wherever she sprayed there was no color there

On one autumn day where the weeds rose up high

As the bright orange sun burnished the sky

With bright flames from hell that fried Sally’s brain

Satan came forth with his flickering flame

To enter her mind with an unsavory notion

To drive straight away my childlike devotion

She touched me in places unspoken ‘til now

Why didn’t she stop what I wouldn’t allow

She plunged me with objects of torturous pain

Defiled and demented with her twisted brain

Transporting my innocence off on a zephyr

So hauntingly dark disheartened I left her

Now memories of cucumber sandwiches make

A metallic taste and my belly ache

And the face of her father all melted away

Still haunts with the wind on warm summer days

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on April 18, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is so sad Kay…very well expressed. I wasn’t expecting the twist at the end. If it’s a true account I’m so sorry that this happened. So many horrors forced upon the innocent. It’s just so wrong.

    Like

Leave a Reply

