Lips of the Brokenhearted

I kiss the lips of the brokenhearted

And fill the hours since she departed

But you won’t let me get too close

So I’ll just have to make the most

Of the minutes that your mind’s not still on her

Don’t you dare fall in love with me

There’s just no room for you to be

Beside the one inside my heart

Even though it’s torn apart

By a shadow that is hanging on the wall

It seems I won’t be held tonight

Cause I can’t seem to get things right

No not today

Not in this way

I guess I’m meant to be alone

Love’s away and won’t come home

And I miss its touch

I miss it so damn much

And I know it wouldn’t be fair

To run my fingers through your hair

While you’re wishing that she were here

Instead of me

That’s reality

I’ve got to face that you’re not mine

You’ll never be my valentine

Roses won’t ever come

No not from you

That just wouldn’t do

I kiss the lips of the brokenhearted

And fill the hours since she departed

But you won’t let me get too close

So I’ll just have to make the most

Of the minutes that your mind’s not still on her

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 3, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. sunnydewdrop

    A kiss of lips, heal the wound, Open mind explore , so heart beat again as it want to beat .<3

    Like

  2. Sad … 😦 … I can relate all too well … Hopes for us both 🙂 ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

