I Didn’t Mean It

 

Why can’t you at least be friends with me

Can’t you see I’m not your enemy

Why can’t we just get along

I know I’ve done things wrong

And now you’ve run away

Why can’t I at least be in your life

I’m not asking much just take the time

To send a gesture that you know

You’ve heard my soft hello

Before you turn and go

I understand it’s hard to look my way

It’s difficult to find the words to say

But I need you here today

While I have strength to say

I wish that you would stay

I know I’ve done things wrong

That broke your heart

I know the things I’ve said

Tore you apart

But that was very long ago

And I want you to know

I didn’t mean it

No

I didn’t mean it

No

 ©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 9, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. sunnydewdrop

    What I say, i find very hard to say anything. just can imagine what you say. very heart touching poem

    Like

  2. People make mistakes, it’s in our nature. But at least you are man enough to admit you were wrong. Good job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

