Scratching Out the Words

Throughout the age

You will always be

Peering at the page

Of my memory

As I dip my pen

Into flowing tears

Scratching out the words

That depict the years

I have shared with you

On the wings of hope

Dormant as they are

I so try to cope

With the thought of you

Lying next to me

Though I’ll never feel

The reality

Of your hand in mine

Or your tender kiss

It would be divine

I would feel such bliss

So I press the days

As the petals fade

And gently tuck away

All the plans we’ve made

Waiting for the time

You’ll return to me

As the sands run through

And wash out to sea

I recount the hours

Naming one-by-one

All the fragrant flowers

We’d picked in the sun

The soft scent returns

To my memory

As I dip my pen

And float off to be

Once again with you

On the wings of love

Scratching out the words

That you’re so fond of

 ©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 16, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love it! Great stuff you’ve got here. Nice blog, enjoying it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

