Covered in Thorns

 

I will soothe and heal you. I will bring you roses. I too have been covered with thorns. –Rumi

 

My flesh cries out for comfort

For I am covered in thorns

That tear away my sanity

And leave me feeling worn

O’ who will bring the roses

To place around my head

On the day of my anointing

Who will lay me in my bed

Will there be a fragrant balm

In bowls of cherry wood

As mortal flesh is wrapped

In linen fine and good

For not one came to soothe

This weary aching soul

Nor brought a tender rose

While she was alive and whole

 

©Kay Salady

 

Covered in Thorns (Narration)

 

 

 

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 18, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

