To Celebrate the Birth of You

 

You were floating in her womb

So soft and pink as a cocoon

And in that not so long ago

The very one that I love so

Came forth to see his Mother’s eyes

For she had carried Gemini

Nine long months and longed to hold

Him in her arms and gently fold

Her fingers ‘round his tender arms

To count his toes and feel the charms

Babies bring when they’re brand new

Yet little did she know that you

And I would meet one special day

And I would love you in a way

That seems to be far greater still

Because I’ve ached and longed to feel

The touch of you much longer dear

So long that I am filled with tears

And wonder if there’ll ever be

A day when you and I can see

The candles on your cake so bright

When I can kiss your lips goodnight

After we’ve danced the nighttime through

To celebrate the birth of you

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

 

Image Credit:  http://www.astrologyweekly.com/zodiac-pictures/zodiac-gemini-pictures.php

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 14, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

